The Experience of Communion

3/12/14

I

Where do I find You?

I find You in life. In this living.

In the layers, and complexities

of the living of a person.

I hear you, here:

in my old professor telling me of his love and affection for his dear friend and colleague,

Who is dying of cancer…

I hear you,

I find you

In the reverence and admiration I see him feeling in the face of the heroism

of his friend in his suffering.

This reverence, this awe, this love

is a beauty so real,

is something so positive,

so tangible,

I could almost touch it.

Touch Goodness.

Touch Beauty.

Touch Truth.

Touch You.

I see You, here:

In the love that allows us

To throw the bridge from our own unfathomable depth

To the depth of the other.

I see you,

I find you

In this love that allows this man to recognize, to know the depth of suffering

that his friend is experiencing

and to enter into

the interiority of his life.

This love, this experience, of deep calling on deep

is a good so real,

So solid,

I could touch it:

Touch Goodness.

Touch Beauty.

Touch Truth.

Touch You.

I find you, here:

In this presence, this wonder

That allows me to see, to be in communion with the depth of his living,

in communion with his friend.

I find you,

I know you

In this capacity of my heart to enter into, to experience the presence of another

In the interiority of a third.

This mystery, this depth, this communion

Is a truth so deep,

So real

I can touch it.

Touch Goodness.

Touch Beauty.

Touch Truth.

Touch You.

II

Where do I find You?

I find You in love. In this experience.

In the depth and complexity

of the feelings of the heart.

I see you, here:

In my own friend’s tears

As he takes in, enters into, the sufferings we’re sharing

Of the years he wasn’t there to bear.

I see you,

I find you,

In this depth of communion that allows him to participate in, to enter into

The pain that I carry.

This sharing, this com-passion, this descending within,

Is a good so real,

So deep

I can touch it.

Touch Beauty.

Touch Goodness.

Touch Truth.

Touch You.

I find You here:

In this mystery of communion

that receives me in another, and lets the other into me

into my deep, calling on his deep.

I find you,

I know you,

In this experience of being entered into, of being seen, and known, and met in my interiority

By being welcomed into his interiority

And this presence, this being with, this understanding

is a beauty so real,

so solid,

I can touch it.

Touch Beauty.

Touch Goodness.

Touch Truth.

Touch You.

I find myself here:

In this mystery, this experience

of being given to myself in my friend’s gaze; of seeing and knowing myself

In his seeing and knowing me.

I see myself,

I know myself,

I receive myself reflected from his eyes,

Filled with the tears of bearing, of knowing

the complexity of my life.

And this exchange, this discovery, this receiving

Is a truth so wonder-full,

So tangible,

So real,

It is me.

It is the incarnation

of Beauty.

of Truth.

of Goodness.

It is You.

III

Where do I find You?

I find you in myself.

In this capacity for communion

That is a reality so deep,

A depth so real,

It is who I am.

This is how I know

That there is such a thing

As Good,

As Truth,

As Beauty.

As Me.

As You.

As We.

Leave a Reply

