The Church I Know

In honor of the Synod in meeting right now…

10/20/14

I know the most confident woman alive

a mother who’s bold, courageous and free

She’s singing and looking right into our eyes

And seeing the things we’re afraid to be

Singing, “Don’t be afraid, I’ll go all the way with you.”

“Come, you were made for so much more.”

And this,

This is the Church that I know.

She’s dancing with abandon down the pathways of life

And drawing us after, relentlessly

Into the face of all the desires

The longings and needs we’re afraid to see

Singing, “Come, dig down deeper than surface solutions.”

“Don’t be afraid to become who you are.”

And this,

This is the Church that I know.

She isn’t afraid of the cavern inside

The endless abyss yawning deep in our heart

She knows Who has hollowed and carved out these caves

And she knows well the way of these paths through the dark

So she sings, “Come along with me, come take my hand.”

“I know the One that we’ll find at the core.”

And this,

This is the Church that I know.

I know the most confident woman alive.

She’s singing and looking right into our eyes:

“I’ll go all the way with you.”

Come into your deep with me.”

“You’re made for so much more.”

“Come, become who you are.”

And this,

This is the Church that I know.

Leave a Reply

